Patching

Before painting my room I need to patch all the holes in my walls so my room will actually look presentable. My uncle owns his own construction company and was willing to help me with my project (this uncle just so happens to be married to my mentor the interior designer). He came over just last Wednesday and demonstrated working with putty, he then watched and critiqued my patch job on my walls.

Materials needed:

Screen Shot 2016-05-07 at 4.17.03 PM.png

Room Before:

Screen Shot 2016-05-07 at 4.45.05 PM.png

These are just some of the many holes that take refuge in my room.

 

IMG_4260.JPG

Instance where the hole got bigger when inverting

IMG_4253.JPG

Framing Hammer Damage

The first thing you do when patching is to make sure all the holes are inverted. As you can see in Image 1 there are “little fluffs” that stick out of the wall, these are visible but there are holes that stick out that you can’t see but you can feel. When pushing in some the holes my uncle asked for a hammer I grabbed him the only hammer we have (which is a framing hammer). Framing hammers have little studs on the head of the hammer. Without looking at the hammer my uncle swung at the wall making dozen of tiny holes which you DON’T want. So there was  a dozen tiny holes instead of one.

The first layer of patching you only want to fill in the hole, but you want to have a very thin layer on the actual wall. I will demonstrate this technique in this video:

After the first layer was done I waited 24 hours to do another coat. The second coat is a lot thicker than the first coat. This is because when using the sand paper you want to be able to sand it down to where you want. This is the constancy of the second coat:

Sorry my helper was a bit chintzy with the putty, but I fixed that problem.

Room After Second Coat: Screen Shot 2016-05-07 at 4.33.35 PM.png

I waited another 24 hours so I could start sanding. This is a bigger and quite tedious job, so I’ll be working at it little by little each day this week.

Leave a Reply

